Costa Rica Primero Blog!

Buenas Dias! I’ve been feeling mucho pressure to write this first blog post from Costa Rica. It has been exactly one week since I’ve arrived in this amazing country, and I have absolutely no idea how to sum up the whole experience. I have a feeling I won’t be anywhere close to being able to do that until this whole, crazy, beautiful experience is behind me. Please excuse me if my sentences aren’t exactly coherent, after intense Spanish classes everyday and only listening to and speaking Spanish most of the time I’m kind of in limbo between the two languages at the moment and tend to add an extra “o” onto English worlds recently :)
Orientation is in a town called Orosi, not far from San Jose. The whole town kind of feels like a Latin American Disney world so far, and I almost can’t believe it’s real. The ticos are as friendly and tranquillo as promised, although living with a host family for the first time has been interesting for me and Ross (and everyone else in our group). The language barrier is a huge part of this, along with figuring out how to get hot water for showering (it’s rocket possible here, but it’s as difficult as rocket science) and getting used to your Tico mom washing your underwear and eating Gallo Pinto for breakfast (and sometimes lunch AND dinner) actually our host family has been trying to keep us happy with typical American fare for many meals, which is unfortunate seeing as though that is french fries, chicken fingers, mac n’ cheese and coca cola :)
Luckily, the running here has been incredible (to negate all the “American” food I’ve been eating here) Orosi is set in a valley surrounded by mountains and volcanoes on all sides, and the other WorldTeach volunteers are great motivators J Our running groups have been around 4-10 people each day after school. Speaking of school, we are in it from 8-5pm Monday-Friday. It’s A LOT of work, but  I am learning a lot and I have a feeling it will be so worth it and even during this busy month we still have our weekends. This weekend Ross and I are traveling to our site in La Fortuna, where will be living from February-December. The weekend after that our whole group is planning a vacation to a beach on the Caribbean.. Can’t wait!!!!
We also did a great hike last Sunday in the mountains here in Orosi. Our guide was a mountain man named Nano. I think he’s pretty famous and has been featured in a few travel magazines, and he’s certainly one of the more interesting people I’ve ever met, so if you find yourself in Orosi looking for some adventure look him up!
I’m actually off to dinner at my temporary Orosi home, then out for homework (and maybe some cervezas) with the other volunteers (did I mention beer here is only $1,000 colones, or > $2 USD. Hasta Luego!!!!!

6 responses

  1. Ahhhh Meg! I am SO happy you finally blogged. Everything sounds amazing and I’m glad you and Ross are enjoying it all. Live every day to the fullest and keep writing about your adventures. Love you sweetie. Oh, and I signed up for the HALF (EEK!!)

  2. Hey Megan,
    I just saw your blog post on facebook so I thought ‘d check it out! I loved Costa Rica, you are going to have a blast! When we went to La Fortuna we went to a Cultural Day with lots of great costumes and dancers at a school and I wonder if it will be the one you work at! Also, I have some suggestions! In La Fortuna there is an awesome watering hole with two waterfalls and a rope swing that lots of the locals go swimming in. It was AWESOME! We went everyday we were there, haha. It is just past the entrance to the waterfall on the right under a bridge and if you take a taxi just ask them to bring you to “El Salto.” Also, the restaurant called Soda la Parada in town is open all night ! And if you go to Monterverde, you should stay at the Camino Verde B&B, they have really good free breakfast and the manager Jose is young and super helpful! And you should go on a zipline tour with Extremo, the last zipline is 1 km long and you can go like Superman. It was incredible! Ok, that’s all I’ve got for now! Have a blast!
    ~Stacy

  3. That language barrier can feel impenetrable when combined with a cultural barrier…but don’t worry about it too much! You’ll figure it out as long as you don’t give up.

    I totally understand about the hot water thing though. These are all the things that are “common sense” within a culture/region, but that an outsider(and perfectly functioning adult) wouldn’t necessarily know. Like, you need your own bag to haul your groceries from the store in Europe. My jet-lagged self became slightly panicked when it looked like I didn’t have enough room in my shoulder bag! Or how the traffic lights work in Amsterdam (bikes have their own lanes, lights, and generally have right of way). Or how fast to walk, etc.

    Interlanguage: the period in which a language learner muddles the two languages together while trying to produce in the new language. It’s natural and cool so don’t fight it, and make sure to laugh at your mistakes. Good luck! Bilingual schools are cool.

  4. You’ll need to keep up these posts, because none of from Old 92 are counting on Hermit Ross for any kind of contact! Keep up the learning, fun, and posts.

Leave a Reply

