I’m lucky that I’m a runner

At least I’m lucky to be a person that has an affinity for running road races. Thanks to all my 5Ks, 10Ks and marathons (roughly 1 million Ks) I can figure out just how far it is I am running no matter where I am in the world.

Other thank that, I’m totally in the dark with that thing they use here in Costa Rica, you know that universally known unit of measurement that almost everyone else in the world uses? Oh yes, the METRIC SYSTEM.

I don’t understand the temperature outside (30 degrees and I’m sweltering, I must have Dengue) , I have no clue how tall I am or how much I really weigh (ignorance is bliss, right?) and I look like a complete idiot when giving or receiving directions.

I try multiplying by 2.2, dividing by 10 and adding 6. I’m even dating a math major- but it’s like teaching an old dog new tricks, not really happening. Luckily Mango’s been using the Metric System since he was a little puppy.

Feet, Yards, Miles, I’m sure these made sense to someone at some point. From the brief research I’ve conducted on this matter (on Wikipedia) I’ve found:

The customary system was championed by the United States-based International Institute for Preserving and Perfect­ing Weights and Measures in the late 19th century. Advocates of the customary system saw the French Revolutionary, or metric, system as atheistic. An auxiliary of the Institute in Ohio published a poem reading:

Then down with every “metric” scheme
Taught by the foreign school,
We’ll worship still our Father’s God!
And keep our Father’s “rule”!
A perfect inch, a perfect pint,
The Anglo’s honest pound,
Shall hold their place upon the earth,
Till time’s last trump shall sound!

I’m actually quite partial of the “perfect pint” but something tells me they weren’t referring to Guinness here.

“Kilometers are shorter than miles. Save gas, take your next trip in kilometers.” -George Carlin

Yet another great reason to run: It’s more fun than sitting in math class discussing conversions!

Leave a Reply

