Food for Thought

Since I was always complaining about rice and beans writing about the food I missed while in Costa Rica, I thought I would give a food update. It’s not all oysters and lobster rolls here, but it’s been fantastic just getting back to ‘normal’ eating.

Since the North End doesn’t have a very accessible grocery store, we’ve taken two trips to Trader Joe’s since being back. We always tried to stock up on the basics at Trader Joes, Wholefoods or even a Stop and Shop and then supplement from the North End convenience stores like the Golden Goose. And by ‘supplement’ I really mean splurge on beer, wine and fancy cheeses. And canolis.

I like to buy the fresh fruits and produce locally a few times a week I enjoy Haymarket Fridays and Saturdays when I have the time/energy for it!

One MAJOR difference in the diet has been the veggies! I just can’t get enough. Last night we made a veggie stir-fry with Quinoa. Quinoa is a gluten free, relatively high in protein and a great substitute for rice for those of us recovering from a year-long Latin American diet. You can read about some additional perks of Quinoa- including help from Migranes HERE

Onions, peppers and mushrooms, oh my!

and, a little Arugula flatbread pizza on the side:

To make it more well-rounded we should have added a lean protein, but I wanted to make sure I had plenty of room for just veggies. I’ll probably get over this vegetable craving eventually. Hopefully not though.

For right now, while we are waiting to fully unpack our kitchen supplies and get settled we are relying on some quick, easy and most importantly healthy meals (like frozen veggie pizzas). Do you have any recommendations for this? Favorite go-to meals for when you aren’t able to cook from scratch but want a healthy alternative? I’d love to hear them!

2 responses

    • Thanks Laura! Looks soo good… we had Kobe beef burgers for dinner tonight, so I’m feeling a good vegetarian dish next. And I’ve been loving quinoa! (maybe I’ll skip the Coconut oil…)

Leave a Reply

