Life is a highway

Hello there! I guess it’s been quite awhile since my last post, I have a good excuse though.. you see the Red Sox started their season and the Celtics are in the playoffs and therefore I have been attending many sports games stuck in deadlock traffic on Storrow Drive for the last month and a half.

In addition to being flipped off, singing out loud at the top of my lungs to “Call Me Maybe” on Kiss108 (this might have something to do with being flipped off, I’m completely tone dead), keeping informed with NPR (as well getting suckered into pledging to all their drives) spilling coffee out of my no-drip eco-friendly coffee cup and getting hit on by truck drivers, I’ve been trying to keep active during the small life hours I spend not sitting in my car/at my desk/on my couch.

For instance, I danced my pants off with relatives at my cousin’s wedding this weekend. Congratulations Chris & Kathleen <3 Bon Voyage and have a blast in ARUBA!

(Dance moves: courtesy of open bar)

I’ve also been busy running around Boston solo endlessly on weekends training for the Twin Lights Half Marathon this Saturday. I really need a running buddy for this summer, any takers? Is there an online site to meet running partners? If not, I’m going to create one. I’ll call this matchmypace.com.

Ross will be running the race with me Saturday, but he doesn’t have to train like normal human beings (ie women). He’ll still be faster than me too, which is probably grounds for breaking up.

Maybe it’s being so busy and distracted lately, but I’ve been having a hard time focusing. Maybe it’s allergies too? Isn’t it funny how almost everything can be blamed on allergies? I’ve been trying to center myself by focusing on a vision board, and found myself feeling very stuck. It just feels like nothing is coming out of this brain of mine. Dreams, aspirations, goals, where are you hiding in there? Are you also stuck somewhere in my sinus cavity?

I discussed this issue with a great friend of mind who I consider to be a wonderful mentor, and she recommended instead of trying to force myself to figure out what it is I do want, to try to write down things I don’t want (to do, to be, etc.) I’ve always felt it’s best to look on the bright side and try to focus on the positive, but sometimes being balanced means paying attention to what you don’t want too. Don’t dwell on it or worry about it, get it down in writing and it just might spark some of that positivity if you’re stuck. And lets face it, we all have negative thoughts and ideas pop into our heads once in awhile, For instance, you might write “I do not want to turn 60. But I DO want to run a marathon on my 60th birthday”. Don’t worry, if you write this on your own personal vision board no one else will have to see it and you can keep your perpetually positive facebook status in tact. You can even burn it after, in fact that might be a good idea…

One amazing yoga instructor we met in Costa Rica would host full moon parties each month, in which she would invite everyone to write down something negative they wanted to give up or get out on a piece of paper, and they would throw these papers in to a big bonfire and be rid of them.

My focus the rest of this week is going to be on surviving this half-marathon and enjoying a weekend on the North Shore (with Mom’s of course- can’t forget those this weekend!) I heard that bright hot thing in the sky might even make an appearance. What is that thing again? On the agenda for next week:

-Yoga (at least 2 classes, it’s been far, far too long)
-Blogging (so many blog post ideas, so little time)
-Writing a long letter and/or email to friends I need to catch up with. Please know I miss you and love you all!

Life is a highway… who wants to carpool?

Leave a Reply

