Thanks and giving.

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving this year! I know I sure did: Ross and I headed to his hometown in Connecticut Wednesday evening and spent the night hanging with his family by the fireplace. Early Thursday morning we woke up to run the Mystic Turkey Trot! It was freezing cold, but it was definitely worth it! The race was a short 3-miler followed by a dip in the Mystic River for the braver souls (ie not me!) Next time though, I will come prepared with a towel and warm sweatshirt to change into (and probably a full body wetsuit).

After the race we spent the rest of the afternoon snacking, watching football and drinking beer with his brothers while his mom cooked up a fantastic feast! We had turkey and all the fixins’. My new favorite Thanksgiving sidedish? Mashed TURNIPS? Who would have thought? Oh my goodness, I can’t seem to get enough of those things! I even declined going for seconds on the mashed potatoes for these babies.

After dinner we sat by the fire again and watched Christmas/holiday movies and drank wine. Okay, I watched ONE Christmas/holiday movie before I passed out for the night. I was full and warm and so cozy… until 6AM this morning when I had to head into work in Boston! Working the day after Thanksgiving is tough; though I’m thankful I’m not in retail and dealing with the Black Friday craze. I’m also thankful that I’m stuck at work with one of my very good friends who is willing to work out with me at 2pm AND that the burrito place down the street is open 🙂 Oh, and that I am wearing my new cute race shirt from yesterday’s trot.

Tomorrow we will head to Cape Ann to do Thanksgiving numero dos with my family. Although I love my boyfriend’s family and had a wonderful time with them, there’s nothing quite like being home for the holidays! I especially can’t wait to see my niece Halle as always. It’s weird to think that next year she will actually be bigger than the turkey.

I wonder what Thanksgiving will be like in Costa Rica next year? I’m thinking a lot less turkey and a lot more rice and bean. More importantly…has anyone ever heard of Costa Rican Turnips?

3 responses

  1. Sounds like such a fun Thanksgiving Meggie, glad you guys had a blast! The mashed turnips sound wonderful. My mom once made them, I think mixed in with sweet potatoes, and it was delicious.

    Can’t wait to see you this weekend for chats & updates : )

  2. Sounds like you had an enjoyable Thanksgiving 🙂 I adore sitting by the fire place with family and relaxing. You are so right about being home for the holidays-I was in North Carolina and I had seafood for Thanksgiving dinner, but now i’m glad to be home!

  3. Pingback: Om, Baby « Loving life and Living healthy

Leave a Reply

