First Day of Winter

I’m SO sick of being sick, and it’s only been a couple of days. Isn’t funny how often we take our health for granted most days, and then just one day of feeling like complete !@#$ can make you  vow to never, ever, neglect your good health again…

I feel like I don’t have TIME to be sick (but really, who does?) I called out of work and slept about 20 hours yesterday… do you know how much I normally get done in 20 hours?!?! I still need to start Christmas shopping (yes, start, I said it) finish up my training manual and wrap up things at work (since 12/31 is officially my last day working), move out of my apartment and pack for a year in Central America (deep breath inserted here).

I do blame myself for being sick though, I haven’t been putting enough time into resting; Not sleeping necessarily but just resting. You know that hour or so a day where you can paint your nails, or have a meal that is not wolfed down in front of a computer, or take a long shower (I mean long enough to rinse all the conditioner out of your hair), or finish that book you keep picking up and putting back down.

I ran a 5K Sunday knowing I wasn’t feeling well and perhaps ran a little faster than I should of (but yea for the 7:51 pace!)

Us after the race..beer was a bad decision.

 

It probably wasn’t the best idea pushing it so much when I haven’t been good about training,  I have also let my workouts fall by the wayside. Although exercise is certainly not what I consider resting, it does facilitate rest for me. I feel so much more content sitting down to watch a move or read a good book AFTER a long run, a sweaty hot yoga class, or just a killer strength training session. I am so much more likely to take my daily needed rest time if I get in my daily needed exercise.

I trudged through the snow this morning (I actually loved the walk in the first snowfall in Boston, it was so beautiful!) and came into work today (bundled up in my Winter Grip North face boots and many, many layers- thank goodness I work in a health club and sweatshirts and comfy pants are okay) and even though it hasn’t been a productive day by any means I’m glad I got myself up and out of bed. I’m going to reward myself by working out and then taking much needed rest (after doing some much needed Christmas shopping, oh and spending that REI Giftcard from Mom and Dad, I need some serious hiking boots to bring with me to Costa Rica). Knowing that I’m not running at 100% capacity right now (more like 35%) I’ll keep the workout light and easy (and maybe even indulge myself in a steam after).

Does anyone else find that working out regularly helps you keep the balance in your life AND your immune system?

Leave a Reply

