I’ll be fine, just give me time…

Things I miss:

Family & Friends (or really anyone who speaks English, I’m not that picky :))
Boston, Rockport, Connecticut, New Hampshire (ie New England)
Temperatures below 100 degrees (but above 50, or maybe 60)
Having our own apartment
Good beer
Any food that doesn’t contain rice and/or beans
Cooking
Television, DVDs, DVR, etc
Having internet access
Stores that offer more than really expensive knock-off American Eagle and Hollister clothing.
Washing machines and dryers
Take away coffees
Trader Joes
Boston restaurants
Red Sox games
Spring
Paychecks
My Hunter Wellies, and most of my clothing and jewelry, purses and shoes
Being able to use Groupons, BuyWithMes, CoupMes, etc

Things I don’t miss:

Working 8-10 hours a day (got to love 6 hour days 4 days a week and many, many vacations and days off)
Grocery Shopping (other than Trader Joes)
Paying rent, health insurance, bills, etc
Feeling rushed/busy all the time
Traffic
Cold rainy weather
The Green line
Text messaging, emailing and Gchatting ALL the time
NOT having Mango 🙂
Watching TOO much TV, I’ve been reading so many good books!

We have almost been here 4 months! That means we are almost 1/3 of the way through with this year! There is A LOT that I am missing from home right now, but I would say the absolute best thing about being here, aside from the teaching and the students, is the free time we get. I have never had so much time to do things I enjoy, and to just slow down. So much time to read and travel and workout everyday, play with my puppy and learn Spanish, time that I could only WISH to have at home. It’s the one thing you can never get enough of, right?

Now if only I could spend some of this time with family and friends from home and get some hummus at Trader Joes, it would be perfect 🙂

“Some things in life may change
And some things
They stay the same

Like time, there’s always time
On my mind
So pass me by, I’ll be fine
Just give me time”
-Damian Rice, Older Chests

Leave a Reply

