The Tortoise and the Hare.

I am dating a turtle. At least it feels that way sometimes. Whereas I am usually a bit on the hyper side, sometimes trying to do too many things at once, Ross is the opposite. He takes his time with everything, and usually is able to do everything right, which can be so annoying. The whole thinking before speaking thing and being calm and mild mannered works for Ross like 98% of the time. And then there are mornings with me. Take this morning for instance:

I woke up at 7:30Am, we had planned to go out for a 6 mile run around 8. I got into running gear, walked Mango, got Gatorade and toilet paper (we were out) at the pulperia and came back to get Ross around 7:50AM for the run. He was awake when I left, but he had only managed to sit up in bed in the 20 minutes I was gone. By the time he changed into running clothes it was somehow 9:30, I seriously have no idea where time went, but it went. I am not a girl who likes to sit around thinking about a run, I just need to go and get it done! By the time we actually left I was hungry (I didn’t want to eat before the run) and very, very grumpy.

We ran the first 3 miles in silence, which gave me plenty of time to think about how irrational I was being. I really had no reason to be mad at him, he wasn’t doing anything wrong, he was just doing everything at a pace that rivals tico time. It’s a Sunday afternoon, and we have nothing planned minus a Harry Potter movie and some grading/lesson planning for tomorrow. I’ve heard that opposites attract and Ross and I are definitely opposites in many aspects, though we do share a lot of the same interests. For instance we both wanted to run, I just wanted to run sometime TODAY.

What probably bothers me the most is that no matter how slow he moves before the run he is ALWAYS faster than me during it. What’s up with that?

I’m happy to say that the last 3 miles were much better than the first. I guess in the end I realized that it’s worth waiting for, to have him there running with me (and protecting me from scary dogs). And at least he’s a cute turtle:

What do you think, do opposites attract OR do they drive each other crazy? Maybe both?

One response

  1. Pingback: Puppy Update « Loving life and Living healthy

Leave a Reply

