Creativity is…

“Creativity is contagious. Pass it on.” — Albert Einstein

Since we were leaving for Costa Rica a week after Christmas last year, Ross and I said no presents. Well of course neither of us followed that (boring) rule. Ross got me a beautiful Moleskin sketchpad and Derwent Graphite pencils (I got him a bottle of Jameson).

In addition to blog writing, I love to draw and paint. I am not very good at either, but I really enjoy doing them. The Moleskin sketchpad proved to be too intimidating for me though, and those menacing blank pages just stared at me for months. And don’t even get me started with the pencils, I read the directions and still don’t really understand them.

Regardless, I brought these with me when we went to Atenas during our summer break, and I really couldn’t help being inspired there. If you saw the place, you would know why.

So far, I’ve only done 2 drawings but have a goal of filling the book before heading back to the States:

Atenas Zen Plant

Phil up in Smoke

(Phil is my Lucky Bamboo plant that friends brought me when I was in the hospital in San Jose. We always light incense all over him and I feel bad. I have no idea why his name is Phil, or even why he has a name.)

The real Phil

I have less talent than many of my 1st graders, but I do have a lot of fun with this and thought I would share with you!

EXCITING UPDATE: My boyfriend, Ross Donovan, has FINALLY started his Photography blog. For more creative inspiration and to see some amazing pictures stop by Ross’ blog and say hello! http://rjdonovan.wordpress.com/

(Ross in action)

I’m always looking to try something new. Do you have any fun creative hobbies? Pottery? Knitting? Making those cool candelabras out of old wine bottles? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

