RIP Old MacDonald

I’ve heard that giving is supposed to be better than receiving, but you also have to be careful not to give too much: of yourself, of your time, of your energy, etc. Because if you do that, you will be drained and not have anything left to give to anybody.

Some days I feel that way here, that I am just completely drained in every way possible: physically, emotionally, spiritually, financially. While I’m sure these feelings are normal for anyone volunteering abroad for any length of time, it seems backwards that the more you give, the more everybody wants and expects from you and the less thanks and appreciation you get.

So how do you know when is enough, and when is too much? I’m trying to work on this balance and be better about focusing my energy on the things that I think really matter at this point, which is my students here and enjoying the last few months of living in Costa Rica with Ross and Mango.

There are always going to be people around who I’ll refer to as the energy drainers: People who are greedy or jealous or just plain mean. Watch out for them, because they will do their best to make sure you get distracted and lose sight of what’s really important. You might be friends with these people, work with them or watch them on Fox News.

Just don’t let them get to you, I know at times I do and trust me, it’s never worth it.

So when situations or people try to get the best of you, ignore em, and save the best of you for those who deserve it 🙂 In fact, you should go out for beers with those who deserve it!

On a sad note, I tried the Old MacDonald song with 2nd graders today (since it was so unsuccessful with my third grade class yesterday). We were going through the lyrics and they noticed that Old MacDonald was old, and that he HAD a farm (past tense) and thus came to the conclusion that Old MacDonald is dead 😦 RIP Old Mac.

Leave a Reply

