Boo!

October is my favorite month in New England. I just love the crisp fall air, the colorful leaves blowing in the wind and the fact that you can wear your leather knee high boots and pretty scarves, but you don’t quite need the Northface down jacket yet. You can let your dog run free on the beach, go apple picking and carve pumpkins, all while drinking a delicious pumpkin beer.

Here are some of my favorite things that I’m really missing this month:

Hot (and Cold, and Sparkling and Hard) Apple Cider

Apple picking, Cider Donuts, Apple pie

All things Halloween. Costa Rica doesn’t celebrate Halloween (as a Catholic country they’re really not too keen on the Paganism)

Another one of my favorite Spanish words is the word for witch, Bruja. I just can’t imagine a childhood without Halloween. Luckly, my niece Halle won’t have too. She’s all ready!

Pumpkin Everything (pies, BEER, pancakes, granola, muffins, bread, coffee, ice cream, candles) I’m a sucker for pumpkin. Last year I added canned pumpkin (along with pumpkin pie spice) into the blender with my protein powder to make pumpkin smoothies topped off with some Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Spice Granola. I definitely recommend this!

Fireplaces. Sitting in front of them or even just enjoying the smell of other peoples’ wafting from their chimneys. There are a few restaurants and bars in Boston that have fireplaces if you’re looking to heat up your next date night out: http://www.bostonmagazine.com/restaurants/display/Fireplaces/

Fall back: gaining an extra hour in the day, thank you very much Day Light Savings!

The downside of Fall:

Looking like part of the Twilight cast. How come it takes 3 months to build up a solid tan and only 2 weeks for it to fade completely?

I’m spending my birthday next week tanning on the beaches at Manuel Antonio National Park. I might not be able to get a pumpkin this year, but I can be the color of one.

Bare Trees. Gotta admit, it’s a little depressing once all those beautiful colors fade away and DIE.

Moldy Jack-o-lanterns. Pumpkins gone bad.

Pumpkin beer hangovers- I hear those are the worst.

Spending roughly a million dollars on Starbucks Pumpkin Spice lattes with giant Pumpkin Cream Cheese muffins on the side.

Treat

Trick

No more bikinis or sundresses to fit into, plus Pumpkin Spice lattes, Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins AND Halloween candy. Fall makes you fat.

Okay, I’m being kind of a Bruja here. Don’t mind me, I’m just insanely jealous. I miss you Fall, but I’ll see you next year!

One response

Leave a Reply

