I Don’t Do This Enough…

I’m taking a little time this Friday afternoon to sit in a coffee shop downtown Fortuna by myself. No boyfriend, puppy (sorry guys!) students, coworkers or family, just me and my giant watermelon and papaya smoothie.

Oh, and my computer of course.

As I sit here taking a moment to breath and reflect, I realize I’ve mentally been all over the place this past week. I’ve been stressing over getting everything in before the last day of school, trying to figure out my life situation when I get back to ‘reality’ next month, playing catch-up with the workout routine and feeling pressure to make the best out of our last few weeks here.

Yikes. That’s way too much at once, I know better than this! It’s fine to juggle multiple things, but it’s also important to keep everything in balance and not lose sight of your priorities.

While my intentions are to be super productive, the end result of overdoing it usually has the opposite outcome. I’ve noticed that the days have been escaping me lately, and that is because I am not using time to my advantage. Though not intentionally, I’m wasting it.

Case in point: I will sign onto Facebook to send a quick birthday note to a friend (good!), and somehow end up looking at said friend’s second cousin’s (once-removed) photo album 45 minutes later (bad!). What am I doing? Stalkerish, yes, but certainly not productive. I’ll log on to the New York Times online to keep up with what’s going on in the world (good!), and find myself reading for 1 and a 1/2 about Kim Kardashians divorce and Penn State Football. I can’t get that time back (bad!). See what I mean about good intentions?

I’ve decided to take this weekend to just slow down and take a break from the internet. I LOVE writing this blog, keeping in touch with everyone and having a public outlet in which to make fun of Ross, but I have some important things to do. I’m sure I’ll tell you all about them, when the time is right.

First up: Pizza date tonight. Good pizza is ALWAYS a priority.

“If time be of all things the most precious, wasting time must be the greatest prodigality.” -Benjamin Franklin

Word of the day: Prodigality. Use it at your next party.

Have a great weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

