For what it’s worth, it was worth all the while….

The adventure isn’t over yet, but things are certainly starting to move more quickly. I’ve officially taught my last class, and though I still have some final exams and we have some wrapping up to do at school, our normal (for lack of a better word) Costa Rican routine is coming to an end. I want to take a few moments now and jot down some thoughts on this before I get caught up in yet another major life transformation.

Tomorrow morning Ross and I leave for San Jose for the 5 billionth time this year. We are going to see Pearl Jam in concert at the new Costa Rican National Stadium, how cool is that?!?! Seeing Pearl Jam in concert would probably have one of the last things I thought I would have done in Costa Rica, but that’s pretty much the theme of my year.

I tried to come into this experience with no set expectations, which is the best way, and maybe the only way to successfully enter into something like this. It has been so much more challenging and rewarding then I ever could have dreamed, in ways I couldn’t have even imagined before. In many ways it’s very refreshing, to give up over-analyzing and over-thinking life and to just LIVE it.

Here are some of the more unexpected life events off the top of my head. They are not all the worst or best things necessarily, they are just the things I would have said ‘no way, not gonna happen’ to this time last year:

Spending a week in a Costa Rican hospital and living to tell about it

Getting a surprise puppy in a basket

Sharing my Mom’s SOLO out of country experience (and poisonous snake encounter)

Getting my tattoo in San Jose

Making 20+ new best friends

Standing up on a surf board

Falling completely in love with 400 students:

As I said before it’s not over yet, but it will be before I know it. I’m going to go enjoy every second of it.

“Another turning point, a fork stuck in the road
Time grabs you by the wrist, directs you where to go
So make the best of this test, and don’t ask why
It’s not a question, but a lesson learned in time

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

So take the photographs, and still frames in your mind
Hang it on a shelf in good health and good time
Tattoos of memories and dead skin on trial
For what it’s worth it was worth all the while

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.”

-Green Day

Leave a Reply

