“Me llamo es Eddie Vedder”

Pearl Jam did not disappoint last night, and neither did the new Costa Rican Stadium. Okay, so Eddie Vedder’s Spanish is not what you might call good, but I give him a lot of credit for trying to speak to the crowd in Spanish (or Spanglish) all night. From my experience talking into a microphone, like talking into a telephone, makes speaking a foreign language even more difficult than it normally is. Granted Eddie Vedder probably has a little more practice with using a microphone than I do. Just a little.

http://www.ticotimes.net/Current-Edition/News-Briefs/At-last-Pearl-Jam-rocks-Costa-Rica_Monday-November-21-2011.

We had floor seats to the show, which was quite an experience. I think a once-in-a-lifetime experience (ie maybe not one I’d like to live again. Do you realize you pay a lot more money to NOT have a seat? And to be stepped on and pushed by lots of giant bald men screaming Pearl Jam lyrics with heavy Spanish accents “Don’t call me daughter, not fair to me, the PEEEEKSURE kept will remind me…”) If I do do it again, I’ll wear something sturdier than flip flops. Like steel-toed boots. And a helmet. And earplugs. Oh my god, I just realized I’m old.

*Quick shout out to HostelWorld.com. We had booked a room on their website for after the concert, but when we showed up the hostel was shut down! It was a minor inconvenience to have to walk/taxi around San Jose in the rain to find a new place, but we managed and HostelWorld.com not only fully reimbursed us, but also gave us a $50 credit for future reservations. That’s more than I make in a month.*

In addition to a great show, we had awesome company, a fun Japanese dinner AND we got $4 Pearl Jam T-shirts. What more could you ask for?

Seeing as it’s 7pm and I’ve been on buses all day (and I’m old) I’m gong to sleep now. Keep on rockin’ in the free world!

Leave a Reply

