Feeling Left Out

So, we’ve spent the last few days in my hometown of Rockport, Massachusetts. It’s been really nice to be home with family and back to everything that was once so familiar, but I’m also feeling kind of out-of-sorts because all of a sudden everything isn’t oh-so-familiar.

It’s hard to explain, but I feel as though I’m looking at everything from an outsider’s point-of-view, and feel as if I don’t really belong, even though this is where I was born and raised. We were both promised and warned this would happen and it has. In one way I have gained a more worldly view, and an appreciation and understanding of living and functioning somewhere else that many people don’t have. I have also been caught up in two totally different worlds, and now realize I don’t feel quite at home in either of them. That is scary, but also slightly empowering.

I’m spending the night drinking wine, making turkey chili, and concocting some delicious holiday desserts. I find a lot of comfort in baking and cooking, and I’m definitely in need of some comfort tonight. If you could use a little extra-Christmas cheer see my easy rum ball recipe below:

Have yourself a merry little Christmas Rum Ball:

1 Package of Vanilla Wafers, crushed (Ziplock bag + Rolling pin= cookie crushed perfection)
1 Cup Condensed Milk
1/4 Cup Baking Cocoa
1 Cup of Shredded Coconut (+ extra for topping)
2 TBLS Spiced Rum (or to taste 🙂 )

1.Stir ingredients in a large bowl

2.Wet hands (the wetness really helps with the sticking) and make small balls with the batter

3. Roll the balls in the extra coconut shreds on a plate

4. Place on cupcake papers and put in freezer to set for a few hours

5. Enjoy (if your’re 21+, of course)!

Leave a Reply

