Bad Timing

Time Management is a very important skill, or rather set of skills. I’ve mentioned my love of to-do lists before, and they are great, but only when you know what to put on them. While I feel like this is usually a strong attribute of mine, this life transition has left me a little lost in that regard, but I’m figuring it out. For example…

The past few days have gone by in a blur, leaving me with the feeling that 24 hours just aren’t enough. Our apartment still isn’t completely unpacked, Mango isn’t quite over his post-flight travel anxiety and I have yet to make it to a yoga class.

I think part of the problem, the reason I’m having trouble with my to-do list, is that I am far too concerned with what others are thinking about me and what I’m doing with my to-do list, time, life, etc. This unnecessary worry/guilt is taking away time from the things that really matter to me right here, right now. That and the fact that my new microfleece sheets make getting out of bed in the morning nearly impossible 🙂

So, I’m learning another important factor of time management (besides the sheets) is CONFIDENCE. Put that on the top of your to-do list and things should go smoothly from there 🙂

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It is not just in some of us; it is in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others. ~Marianne Williamson, A Return to Love: Reflections on the Principles of “A Course in Miracles,” 1992

9 responses

  1. What if you slept on bedsheets made from spikes? Okay that might be too extreme but how about something still annoying – bedsheets made from paperclips?

  2. A fantastic inspiring website for routines, time management and getting more done each day is Fly Lady. You will be glad you checked it out!

  3. Megan I feel the EXACT same way. I’m not glad you feel like this but it’s nice to know I’m not alone. Ugh for whatever reason ever since the holidays it’s been so hard for me to feel motivated, organized and confident. Like there are so many options and life is so short and I’m afraid to choose yet feeling guilty not doing anything.

    We should probably hang out one of these days. How is your tummy feeling??

      • I’m in Burlington, so not always the most convenient place to get to if you don’t have a car. But there’s a train station in Woburn, or I can get to the North End driving as long as it’s not rush hour!

Leave a Reply

