Exciting News!

Let every day be the first day of the rest of your life,
but especially let today be a new beginning.
– Jonathan Lockwood Huie

A few days ago I alluded to having some good news to share on here, and now that it’s *officially* official I can happily announce I have accepted a job at a wonderful company, and couldn’t be more excited!

My first day will be almost exactly one year from when I started teaching in Costa Rica. Wow, it’s AMAZING how much can change in a year!

I think it’s a widely accepted fact that the job searching process can be a difficult time, filled with ups and downs, disappointments, false hopes and some seemingly impossible decisions. It can also be a great way to brush up on your writing, take a good hard look at yourself and find the connection between what you are really good at, and what you really love to do.

I was very lucky to have the time and support to be able to make finding a job my full-time job this the past month. I read the 2012 edition of “What Color is Your Parachute”, I researched companies on job sites and then individual websites, I did some networking and took time for some serious self-reflection.

It wasn’t easy, but it certainly has proven to be rewarding. My advice to anyone in the position of searching for a job or a new career path would be: Use your time as efficiently as possible, be gentle with yourself and don’t lose hope! As I said, it’s not easy, but I promise it’s worth it!

It’s especially worth it if your wonderful boyfriend brings home flowers and champagne to celebrate the job (somebody’s happy not to be footing the bill anymore… hahaha…. but seriously.)

2 responses

  1. I can’t express how happy I am for you Meg. You really pushed yourself and never gave up throughout the (sometimes discouraging) process. You deserve this and I can’t wait to hear more about the job once you start. We HAVE to go out and celebrate soon : ) Perhaps a run and tea?

Leave a Reply

