Pobrecito sin Quequito

According to this very unofficial Costa Rican document, today is Mango’s 1st birthday!

Unfortunately our little guy is still dealing with some tummy issues. We brought him to the vet today, and it looks like a with and injection, a little medication and some special food he should be feeling better in just a few days. So, we’ll just have to wait a little longer to surprise him with the Gourmet Tails peanut butter cupcakes that look so good I’M tempted to eat them:

He could still enjoy some of his other presents, including a new comfy bed and a small frisbee:

Last night Ross and I had a great date night starting with dinner at Pho Basil an interesting Vietnamese/Thai restaurant. The waiter was one of the friendliest people I’ve ever met, and the food was so good it made us forget we were basically sitting at a table in the hallway (it is BUSY here)

We shared the steamed Shumai to start, and I ordered off the Vietnamese menu and got the Crazy Udon as my main dish. With a glass of Pinot Grigio (which may have been more Californian than Vietnamese):

Ross went all Thai with the Drunken Noodle and a Singha beer

All the food and the drinks were wonderful, and very affordable. I really want to go back and try everything on the menu at some point.

We walked to Jordan Hall after to see the NEC Symphony perform pieces by Schubert and Tchaikovsky. These free Jordan Hall concerts could become a great new hump day tradition.

I’ve been feeling a little stiff/sore after my long run Monday (I knew it was too good to be true), so I did a little On Demand yoga in my living room today. I might try to go out for a quick 3 miler, and then come home and spend the rest of the evening taking care of the sick birthday boy!

How do you celebrate your pet’s birthday?!?

Leave a comment