Baby You Can Drive My (Zip) Car

While y’all were sleeping in and enjoying your long weekend, I was up at 6AM getting ready for work. Since I don’t have a car, I commute by train from North Station to Waltham everyday. While I was busy with my usual pre-work morning ie chomping on my cereal and browsing Twitter, I happened to overhear on the news that the Commuter Rail would be running on a holiday schedule. When you rely on a reverse commute schedule like I do, less train times = bad news.

I obviously did the rational thing, and completely panicked. I went running in the bedroom to wake Ross up (at 6:30AM on his day off) and started bombarding him with 4 letter words about the MBTA and presidents. When he finally was awake/coherent enough to figure out what was going on, he reserved a zipcar and drove me to work. Not only was I on time, I was early and got to spend a glorious 30 minutes in a car with Ross enjoying the early morning sunshine, sipping coffee and listening to NPR.

If you don’t have a car in the city, I definitely recommend getting a zipcar membership.

The rates are much more affordable than standard rental cars or cabs, and we have had no trouble reserving a car whenver we need one, even last minute like this morning.

This being said, my everyday commute is weighing on me a lot already (and it’s only officially week 2) so I think I’m going to have to seriously consider getting a car again. Although I’ve enjoyed being car-less for the past 4 years or so, it would be great to have one for the new job outside of the city, and also for weekend trips and vacations with Mango. Any car suggestions are much appreciated!

Ross also picked me up after work, and took me to Trader Joes! He definitely won the best boyfriend of Presidents Day award. Seriously, sometimes I don’t know what I would do without him.

So, Ross thank you for saving me again! To show my appreciation I am dedicating the following song to you ❤ :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Ts2U1mkfz4

One response

Leave a comment