Posting about blogging about tweeting about pinning….

Say what? It’s amazing how much of my day life is being taken over by social media. Facebook and my blog were the most effective ways for me to stay in touch while I was living abroad, and Twitter kind of grew on me by default (although I still don’t have many followers, so maybe I’m a bad tweeter?)

My newest obsession is Pinterest. I didn’t want to like it, in fact I think I may have been one of the first people to sign up for it (now there is a waiting list to join?!) and I didn’t do anything with it for the first few months, but as soon as I logged in, I was hooked. I still don’t really understand it; all I know is that every time I sign on I get inspired, I cook better and I manage to pull off a new hairstyle. I also manage to lose 2 hours in what feels like 2 minutes, which isn’t always a good thing (especially not according to the boyfriend, who doesn’t seem to get his motivation from pretty pictures and motivational sayings. I bet if he had a ‘sports, beers and babes board’, it would be a different story.)

What are your thoughts on social media usage? (if you’re reading this blog, I assume you are a user). Is it more of a time waster, or a inspirational tool? Both? Does it do more harm than good in the long run?

Speaking of long run, this was something I contemplated today on my 5 mile run around the Charles, and I’d love to hear your opinion!

Time for a vanilla protein shake, a post-run shower, and thinking up something to do on this rainy Saturday other than give in to Social Media. Have suggestions? Feel free to tweet them to me @LuvNPuraVida 🙂

(This image was found on Pinterest- of course.)

One response

  1. I think its a helpful tool if used correctly. I find I spend most of my time on the DIY pages, however I end up spending so much time looking instead of actually doing them! I think its better for me if I use it to pin things from websites [its original purpose] rather than “re-pinning” when things tend to lose their source.

Leave a Reply

