March Madness

Over 70 degrees in Boston? In March?! I’ll take it! The past few days of sunshine and warmth have been good for my mind, body and soul. Oh, and good for my dog too…

He had A LOT of fun at Good Harbor beach on Sunday.

We all had a great time this weekend. We’ve been loving catching up with good friends and road tripping in the new car. I went for a whole year in Costa Rica without necessarily having much control over my life (finances/job/food/etc) and while there is something fun about that, and I certainly don’t recommend being a complete control freak by any means, this experience made me really appreciate the control I have over my time now.

I always feel so inexplicably good after spending a few hours in a book store, shopping at an organic food market or dabbing at a canvas on my easel. It’s sort of a similar feeling to post-exercise, and even though I don’t quite get the same endorphins in Barnes & Noble as I do on a 6 mile run, I feel like there is some connection with doing things you love that are good for you. Just like how a 10 minute walk outside in the nice weather can brighten your whole day, even if you spend 1/3 of it inside a dark office building.

While we can’t control the weather, we can control how we spend our time, or at least a few hours of our time most everyday. So, take control and stop doing things that waste your time and don’t make you feel good (like watch the season finale of the Bachelor. That is 2 hours of my life I am never going to get back) and bring some figurative sunshine into your life by doing something you are passionate about.

Although this is incredible weather is probably just a tease, spring and summer are right around the corner. I mean, nothing says “adios winter” like the Red Sox vs.Yankees (pre-season) game tonight.

One response

  1. “dabbing at a canvas”

    Now I can’t stop picturing you lightly dabbing at your canvas with a moistened sponge, the way one would if it had a spot of red wine on it. Dab away!

Leave a Reply

