Confessions of a Non-Shopaholic

“Spend more save more” is a slogan thrown around a lot. All those ‘buy one get one 50% off discounts’, the ‘buy 3 get one free’, and those 5 for $25 panties at Victoria’s Secret. We eat this stuff up and buy more because, who doesn’t need 5 lbs of oranges (I got talked into that one today at Haymarket.)

The math doesn’t quite add up though, and the fact of the matter is, the more you spend, the more you spend (a little less catchy, isn’t it?).

Today I went on a little shopping spree in Fanueil Hall after my run. I was at the cash register at Victoria’s secret when the woman checking me out informed me I was just short of earning myself a free umbrella (they have a promo going where if you spend $60 you get a free umbrella). She recommended I pick up something else up, so I started ransacking all the random things they keep up at the cash register ( probably kept there for this purpose), willing to buy something, anything, just to get the damn $$60 umbrella that I didn’t even want or need. Will that umbrella make me look like a VS supermodel?

No. it’s bad enough I believe their push-up bras will. They don’t.

I finally realized what I was doing was ridiculous, and am happy to report I didn’t blow a bunch of money just to get a ‘free’ umbrella.

My next stop was in the Gap, where they basically told me tried to persuade me into opening a Gap card today to save a bunch of money, because of course that’s what credit cards are for, to SAVE you money. Those credit card companies, so generous!

I had fun today, and shopping can be a treat, but it’s also important to be smart and keep that consumerism in check.


American consumerism is about buying things we don’t need,
with money we don’t have, to impress friends we don’t have time for.

— Leo Horrigan

Leave a Reply

