Wicked Frosty Four – A New New Year’s Tradition!

Happy New Year! I hope everyone had a great time ringing in 2013. I think Ross and I started a new tradition- running a New Year’s Day Road race! We woke up early this morning and drove to Salem to run the annual Wicked Frosty Four. We’ve done road races celebrating a lot of different holidays (Turkey trots, Jingle Bell Runs, Leprechaun leaps, etc.) so why not New Years? I couldn’t think of a much better way to start off a year than running outside in the freezing cold sunshine with about 800 other crazy  fun runners.

20130101-211447.jpg

The course was beautiful; it was very flat and it took us through cute sides streets in Salem and along the coast (although it was hard to fully appreciate the beauty of the winter beaches as the wind whipped sand in our eyes). Ross has been a bit under the weather lately, so we weren’t trying to PR, but our friend Caleb did (ie he left us in the dust!). Granted, it was his first race so anything would have been a PR, but I think we’ve converted a new runner!

Burger

Diet

Post race, we headed back to Tavern in the Square for a burger and beer breakfast. I’ll work on that healthy eating New Year’s resolution thing later 😉

New Year’s Day races probably aren’t for everyone, but I absolutely loved it. I also loved how knowing I had a race in the morning actually helped keep me refrain from overindulging on NYE. Don’t get me wrong, we still had a lot of fun. Similar to last year, we got all dressed up and stayed in  playing games with great company. Unlike last year though, we didn’t stay in all night! At about 10 to midnight we decided to bundle up  and walk (or ice skate, given the condition of the roads) to the Bunker Hill Monument and watch the fireworks over Boston Harbor! We certainly didn’t need to worry about our champagne staying chilled 🙂

Chillen

My 2013 goals are to work on organization (work/life/home) and try to enjoy a little more down time. 2012 was a really busy year, which was great, but sometimes being too busy makes it to easy to lose sight of what’s really important. Some days seem to go by slow (hello Monday, I’m looking at you), but the years go by so fast.

I saw a quote on someone’s shirt at the race today that said “The miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start.” Like everything in life, to complete something and reach a goal, you simply need to begin. It’s all downhill from there. To kick start my process I’m doing a little vision board project and I’ve subscribed to Real Simple magazine.

Did you make any resolutions or set any goals this year? If so, what are your first steps to achieving them?

Happy New Year!
NewYear

Leave a Reply

