Life is a Marathon, Not a Sprint

So, I’m turning 30 in just over a week. November 3rd is the big 3-0. I’m celebrating by running the New York City Marathon, and I couldn’t be happier! I ran my first full marathon, the Boston Marathon at age 22, back in 2006 ( I know, that’s a really long time ago. There were probably still dinosaurs roaming the earth. Get over it.) It was a life-changing experience for sure, and probably one of the best days of my life (up until that point). For some reason, lets call it life, I took a long hiatus from running marathons.

 

I didn’t stop running though, or racing. I did plenty of half-marathons, met some best friends running and even met my now husband at a 24 hour-relay race. Did I mention on here I got married? Ross and I tied the knot on October 4th at the Shalin Liu in Rockport, MA. It was seriously the best day of my life (the marathons come second, I promise). He will also be by my side at the NYC marathon #teamdonovan:

 

 

Image

Image

(Photo Cred: Josh Collins: On the left is me and Ross in 2007 the night we met (along with running friends Josh and Jen). On the right is us and the same friends at our wedding in 2013. Like a fine wine, we get better with age. And showers. Awwwww.

 

So, my 20s have been full of good runs, races, and even better friends and loved ones. A few months ago I took a new job with Marathon Tours & Travel, and it took me to Berlin with a group for the marathon in September. I got to run the 2013 BMW Berlin Marathon less than a week before my wedding. Some might think this is crazy, but I thought it was very fitting. Sure, I may have broken down crying at mile 24, worried I was going to be in too much pain to dance at my wedding, but whatever doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. After 26.2 miles and an international flight home, I still danced like crazy on my wedding day:

 

ImageImage

 

Well, as I’m reflecting on the past decade, I realized another thing that was very important to me was this blog. I really enjoy sharing my life and experiences and reflecting on here. I’m looking forward to another decade of running, blogging, loving, living. 30 is the new 20 after-all. At least that’s what I’m telling myself!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

